Each year, Mason Community Players honors a number of members for their dedication and community spirit. These members are honored at the group's annual banquet. The 2018 Banquet, celebrating the shows and events of 2017, was held January 6th in the Pavilion at the Golf Center in Mason.

Some of the awards are humorous; some are in appreciation for service during the year and some are to honor the continued and dedicated service of many years. All are given in a spirit of gratitude for the members who give so much of their time, their talent, their skill and their knowledge to make MCP a success. Listed below are the individuals who were recognized for their "contributions" in 2017.

Below this list are links to all the recipients of the most prestigious awards.

Honored this year:

The Gong Award (the most significant in performance gaff)
Darren Lee for running the wheelchair into the set and then making it a "thing" in A Tuna Christmas and not to mention leaving his family standing on stage waiting for him to remember he had an entrance in Pride & Prejudice.

Bloody Smurfs (drawing blood in the service of MCP)
Theo Brinkman ... drew blood in the construction of set for Love Lost Revue
Eric Grimm ... bloodied himself moving a wardrobe in the container, and again moving a speaker and yet again by hitting the counter top in the kitchen while getting a cooler ready for Intermission all during preparation for The Wizard of Oz
Larry Hirth ... revenge of the microphone during prep for The Wizard of Oz
Eric Johansen ... drove a screwdriver into his leg while constructing for The Wizard of Oz

MO-Trin Awards (harming one's self in the service of MCP without loss of blood)
Larry Catlin ... in the process of lowering the ramp in A Tuna Christmas using the very ingenious wooden system constructed by Darren, he managed to lose his grip causing the ramp to fall to its position and the handle to rapidly turn back around and slap him in the wrist causing bruising and a strain

Most Community Player (chosen by vote of cast, crew, staff of show)
For Love Lost Revue
Performer/Musician: Lara Gonzalez

For Pride & Prejudice
Technician: Darren Lee
Performer: Isabella Lisa & Melissia Gary 

For The Wizard of Oz
Technician: Dana Davis
Musician: Pete Padolik
Youth Performer: Eric and Amanda Kniffen
Performer: Katie Hill

For The Curious Savage
Technician: Paula Fultz
Performer: Melissia Gary 

The Holliest, Jolliest Tuna Helper for A Tuna Christmas
Darren Lee

Magnet Mayhem (given by Catlin Family to highlight some occurrence from the past year)
Each individual who served on one of MCP's Committees (Communications, Facilities, Finance, Liaison, Membership, Production) was gifted with a magnet which reads, "Individually ... a drop, together ... an ocean."

Silver Service Awards (named by any group member for service above and beyond the call of duty)
Bill Baumgartner, Wrynn Boucher, Jess Bunn, Laureen Catlin, Phil Catlin, Stephen Catlin, Dana Davis, Lara Gonzalez, Eric Grimm, Randy King, Eric Kniffen, Leanne Kniffen, Darren Lee, Rebecca McLaughlin, Pete Padolik, David Pendergraft, Gail Rudolph, Monika Rudolph, Justin Sanford, Mike Turner, with a "Gold" Silver Service to Mary Stan Fizer and Larry Hirth

Business of the Year (chosen via vote by the Board of Directors)
Lebanon, Mason & Monroe Railroad

Catlin Award (chosen by the previous recipient and given to a member whose participation is or began because of their devotion to family or friend)

Mike Riesenberg

Jason Holt Award honoring the Technician of the Year (chosen via vote by the Board of Directors for dedication to the technical aspects of productions throughout the year)

Stephen Catlin

Vice-President's Award (chosen by the Vice-President to honor dedicated service by a member for 5 or less years)

Dana Davis

President's Award (chosen by the President to honor dedicated service by a member for 6 to 10 years)

Jim Hall

Terry Family Founder's Award (chosen by the Terry Family from nominations submitted from the members of the Board of the individual most responsible for administrative support during the year) ... This year chosen directly by the Board ...

Robert Terry

Dallas W and Helen Bowyer Award (chosen via vote by the Board of Directors for dedicated service in a critical aspect of theatre over a period of many years ... at least 5)
Diane Caruso

Grace Campbell Award (chosen via vote by the Board of Directors for continued dedicated service over many years ... at least 5 ... in many areas of theatre) 

Sonya Neff

Grace Campbell Award Recipients

Dallas & Helen Bowyer Award Recipients

Terry Family Founders Award Recipients

Director's Roll Call

President's Award Recipients

Vice-President's Award Recipients

Phil Catlin Award Recipients