Mason Players is extremely proud that three of our members were given special recognition at the Annual OCTA Regional/ACT Cincinnati Conference the weekend of June 20-22, 2019.

Peyton Hahn received a Rising Star Award honoring those whose dedication to community theatre is evident early in their association with a group. The award was created to acknowledge that the number of years of service does not affect the quality of the service. Outstanding service can be evident, and often is, among the youthful and those who have returned to theatre after a long hiatus. Since Peyton joined MCP in 2012, while still a student, he has given countless hours toward the success of the group. He was instrumental in ensuring the financial health of the group as chair of the Finance Committee, and Peyton serves on the Board of Directors, currently as Vice-President. Peyton was also instrumental in encouraging ACT Cincinnati to institute this award to honor the dedication of his peers. Eight others were named Rising Stars with him, and he can take pride in knowing they received accolades because of his commitment. MCP is proud to have him be recognized throughout the region as a “Rising Star.”

Perry Gary was awarded the Ohio Community Theatre Association’s Spirit of Community Theatre Award. This award is to recognize individuals within a region of OCTA for their service to community theatre, as well as their positive influence on their member group, their region, and community theatre in general throughout the state. No one embodies being positive more than Perry. His dedication to the success of MCP is apparent in the hours he spends as chair of the Membership Committee, as a fundraising coordinator with Lebanon, Mason and Monroe Railroad, behind the stage in a myriad of ways and on stage as a performer. MCP is thrilled to let the whole state know that Perry brings us great joy as he gifts us with so much talent and hard work.

Laureen Catlin received the coveted Art Rouse Award from ACT Cincinnati. The Art Rouse Award is given annually in Art's memory to a member from an ACT Theatre to honor an individual who has shown exceptional commitment and dedication to community theatre. Laureen has been dedicated to the success of MCP for more than 35 years in a variety of capacities from administration to strike. She joins a long list of honorees who have dedicated countless years toward community theatre in the Cincinnati area.